Documenting my love of travel, both at home and away

6 Things I’m Looking Forward to About Florence

some flowers on the floor of the farmhouse in Dozza

 

Or, Things I’m Looking Forward to About Leaving the Farm on Sunday,  Even Though I Have Enjoyed My Time Here

  1. I will no longer have to listen to the sound of Sky News in Italian on the television all the time. My host turns the TV on as soon as he wakes up in the morning and as soon as he’s done with work in the afternoon. I will enjoy not being around a TV once I am in Florence
  2. Food! There are things I’ m missing that I’m going to make sure I get in Florence, pastries and gelato definitely topping the list. Also, FRESH VEGETABLES. I’ve barely had any since being in Dozza. I’m also eager to just roam a market again and buy food just for me.
  3. I’ve been researching interesting places to go in the city and have found some good ones on Atlas Obscura: an old apothecary/perfumery, an anatomical wax museum, outdoor sculptures and ancient cemeteries and much more.
  4. Being anonymous again! This is one of the most appealing- and paradoxically, one of the most isolating- aspects of solo travel. It’s been nice living with this family, but I’m ready to be around lots of strangers again
  5. Just changing locations again! Wheee!
  6. It’s Florence! There’s art and beauty everywhere!

 

Welcome, o life! I go to encounter for the millionth time the reality of an experience. –James Joyce

Mama goat and one of her newborns last week

 

Things I Will Miss About Dozza

  1. Charlotte! Four years old, half English and half Italian, precocious and intelligent and adorable and hilarious
  2. Having my own bedroom and bathroom with my very own shower! I might have taken advantage of these amenities a tad too much, but oh how one’s privacy is cherished when on the road!
  3. Nina, the puppy who is always excited to see you
  4. The landscape- the hills, the tiny village with the bell tower perched above us, the sunlight, the fresh smells
  5. All that free Nutella
  6. Victoria’s kindness and hospitality, Davide’s helpfulness and patience, the company and comraderie of working with Jo and Ken

 

I thought I’d put in a little note here about how nice it is to get such great feedback from all of you. I feel so solitary, over here alone and taking all these pictures and writing to share the journey with everyone, and I’m receiving such nice words and encouragement from friends and family members in response. Thank you for reading this and for all the support!

On to the next chapter…

One can only really travel if one lets oneself go and takes what every place brings without trying to turn it into a healthy private pattern of one’s own and I suppose, that is the difference between travel and tourism. –Freya Stark

 

the cat with a mustache in Dozza

 

Some words of wisdom written on the walls of Archi Rossi Hostel in Florence

 

Zooming in on some reflections on the Arno River in Florence

 

3 responses

  1. Enjoy this next visit to a different place, Pippi! Liked reading what you’re looking forward to; and that old apothecary sounds really interesting and fun. The food market is sure to be awesome, too. And little Charlotte sounds like such a joy. All blessings.

    Free Nutella sounds good, too! Yesterday I saw a choc chip cookie recipe with some nutella in the dough…gotta try that. And, as you know, sing an ode to butter while making them. Then go for a run, lol.

    May you thrive in every way and have a wonderful day today and tomorrow.

    February 15, 2011 at 12:15 pm

  2. Correction: it’s not exactly Nutella in the recipe, although some people tried and liked that. The recipe, by Bill Yosses in The Perfect Finish, says to use *unsweetnened* Nutella or hazelnut paste. Ever seen unsweet Nutella? Should I even go near it when I was surrounded by tall, lanky models in gym class today? Okay, we’re getting way off track here and that’s just silly.

    Thanks for reminding me to try the cookie recipe, Christy!

    February 15, 2011 at 12:48 pm

  3. Sue Coletto

    Free Nutella is always a good thing 🙂 I miss you but am glad that we can connect through the glorious internet, blogs, and the like. Your posts are inspiring and they make me want to be there with you. Soak up all that Florence has to offer.

    Love you.

    February 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm

Leave a Reply

